GOOOOOOOOAAAAAAL.. S!

goals

Got any?! How about those new year’s resolutions? You know, many have already given up on theirs. Are you one of them?

A lot of people don’t “get” goal writing, or planning beyond the few basics of losing a few pounds or quitting smoking. Are you one of them?

I understand this because I never used to understand goals either. I mean I just had in mind to do things I wanted to do. There wasn’t per se a plan of any kind. I realize now that is how most of the time we achieve exactly nothing! If you’re lucky you might take 2 steps forward and then 2 back and at least have felt the high of the forward steps temporarily, which is nice I suppose until you find yourself in the dumps of the backtrack. A couple of weeks ago there was a Goal Workshop held in CREATE’s Studio, and while there’s just too much to throw into a blog post, there are some ideas that must be shared. And hopefully you’ll start to “get” it too!

I discovered goal setting by accident. You see I didn’t know I was doing it, because some goals you don’t have to write down. When I went back to school as a mature student—which is where my journey of big successes began—writing down that I was going to aim to be an awesome student and graduate with honours seemed silly; I was there as a grown up, no parental force, passionate, so why wouldn’t I put my all into it? So of course I didn’t write out any goals. Funny enough fitness and lifestyle management school teaches you all about goals and creating them. I did very well in this class and still didn’t really “get’ it, yet. Nor did I upon further successes within my career, my life, etc. until a couple of years ago, when I realized how I was creating what I wanted. Then I found by accident that writing it out specifically just made it that much more powerful!

Here are the 3 primary requirements to making your want/vision/idea in to your reality

  1. Latch. You must latch onto the idea like you can’t imagine that not happening. Once you decide this is what will be, you’re in. I remember the day I first told people I would be riding my bicycle across Africa, at a party, that was a scary one to throw out there, but it certainly solidified it in my mind and pretty much meant that I had to do it (or live with an “attention seeking liar”-based label forever). Whatever you want, latch on to the idea, like you know you’ll get it and then…
  1. Vision, develop it! Imagine it all in detail. Not just how it looks but every aspect of it as if you already have it, or are there. Feel physically and emotionally, smells, tastes, sounds. Who’s with you, or in your life, everything you can to develop your picture of this. Write it all down so you can easily access that feeling anytime you need motivation to bring it alive easily. This will help to strengthen your latch and bring in some passion to make it want to happen.
  1. Take Steps. You don’t have to know the whole master plan and have it all figured out, especially if it’s a big undertaking, but do start taking one step at a time. Figure out the next step or two, and then do them, it will all come together in ways you couldn’t imagine.

If you’ve got an idea, but can’t latch or envision it, but can’t figure out the steps, or need help with losing and maintaining weight loss or other fitness, health & wellness goals. CREATE has full programs to help you thrive. We guarantee our results too! Call 416-994-6267 or fill out an online contact form to request your FREE consultation NOW!

Want FREE Training? CREATE has an amazing Referral Rewards Program that gets you FREE Training, or CASH in hand. Call 416-994-6267 for details, or ask about it during your next session.

Want even more of our awesomeness? Check us out on facebook, twitter, google + and instagram

© Lisa Kingsley-Correia and Create Fitness Health and Wellness, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Leave a Reply

